Occupy Detroit

The more I visit Detroit, now that I’m living in northwest Ohio, the more I fall in love with it. It would take pages for me to explain the details of what I see when I visit, but in a nutshell Detroit tells me the story of humanity born and gone and trying to be born again.

One of the highlights of present-day Detroit is the Occupy Detroit encampment at Grand Circus Park at the gateway to downtown. Yesterday, I dragged my twins and my mother-in-law from California to visit the encampment and join in on a march. We were, of course, late to the march, but we caught up with the occupiers at the Park and met some neat folks.

Here are some of my favorite photos from our brief visit:

One of the many signs posted on the outside barrier of the encampment at Occupy Detroit.

Occupy Detroit's calendar for November.

On a wall just outside the encampment...something I strive for every day.

In the encampment, one of the many things the 99 percent are protesting.

This wall is across the street from the encampment.

 

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Sandrala

     /  November 8, 2011

    You can drag me to Detroit anytime!

    Reply
  2. Thanks Shoshana. I love to see/hear about the various Occupy Wall Street encampments; I visited the one here in Tucson yesterday and will check out the big mama in NYC when I go east for Thanksgiving.

    tucsonwriterediotr.com

    Reply
    • My sister used to live in Tucson. Nice community there. How is the occupy going there? It seems with winter coming, the western encampments will have an easier time of it.

      Reply
  3. Ooops…tucsonwritereditor.com

    Reply
  1. Occupy the Kids? « Stories from the Heartland

Leave a Reply

