The Endless Winter

Just when I thought I was out….

Winter. I can admit that I didn’t know the extent of it until I moved to Iowa 3.5 years ago. This winter, however, is one for the record books.

So far, Iowa has received 57 inches of snow. This is the snowiest winter on record.

What this means in my world is that the ground has been covered with the frozen white stuff in either snow form or ice form since December. It’s February. I am tired of it. My house is tired of having 3-foot-long icicles hanging from its eaves. My snow shovel is tired of the daily plow. My car is tired of skidding around corners. My heater is tired of warming the house 60 degrees warmer than it is outdoors. And I am tired of being cold and stuck inside.

Some people revel in snow, as I have said before. But I don’t understand these people or where they come from. And I wonder if they experience the same winter I do.

All I know is that I wish Punxsutawney Phil had been a bit braver this year and stayed out of that hole! Or rather, I’d like to climb in with him and wait out the bad weather until spring.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. It’s been raining here a lot. I like it though. Little E calls it “ain.”

    Reply
  2. Kristin Lusian

     /  March 29, 2010

    Ok, so I admit, I follow your posts because they make me happy. I smile when I think of you cuddled up with the kids and cooking something delicious. I know your spirits are lifting as the temperature does.

    The ice is almost all out of the Great Lake here. Grass is peaking through. Spring is here!!!

    Miss you, love you!

    Reply
  3. redheadwglasses

     /  September 14, 2011

    I am from Iowa. now I live in Minnesota. Move here, THEN we can talk about winter. ; )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

