Thanks for the Extra Hour

As much as I like to whine and moan about the after-effects of Daylight Savings Timechanging-daylight-savings-time, I do have this one day of the year where things feel pretty good.

That extra hour of sleep on the first morning of the “fall back” always seems to put me back on track.

I go through half of the year groggy it seems, always feeling like I can’t get enough rest. I’m positive that when the “spring forward” hour takes that hour from my night’s rest I feel it for months.

So today, when I woke up, even forgetting that it was the end of Daylight Savings Time, I felt refreshed, rested and then, when I found out it was 9 a.m. instead of 10 a.m., elated.

I’m sure there’s some sort of disorder to describe my disorder. Something that sounds like time-change affective disorder or missing-an-hour-for-too-long syndrome. I know I could move to a place where Daylight Savings Time is not practiced, like in Arizona or Hawaii. But who knows what that would do to my system! Whatever it is I’ve got, I’ve embraced it, and I am always pleasantly surprised to find that when I wake up that morning at the end of my months of inappropriate fatigue, I actually feel better.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Where, oh where has my blogroll gone? « Beyond My Window

Leave a Reply

